Degree Committees

  • Print

In the Republic of Latvia promotion is allocation of scientific qualification – doctoral degree in a field of science. The doctoral degree conferral procedures and criteria are set by the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Latvia.

RSU Degree Committee activities are organised according to the Cabinet of Ministers' Regulation No. 1001 “Process and criteria for the grant of a doctorate in science”.

The fields and subfields of sciences in which the Republic of Latvia allocates scientific degree are determined by the Latvian Council of Science.

Degree Committees operate in accordance with the effective regulatory enactments of the Republic of Latvia, RSU Constitution, RSU Statutes of Degree Committees and other internal regulations of RSU.

Degree committee's composition is approved by the university's vice-rector for science. The committee consists of scientists that have the Scientific Expert rights at the Latvian Council of Science and two of them have Expert Rights in a subfield of science in which the doctoral thesis is defended. A degree committee may include foreign scientists upon approval by the Latvian State Scientific Qualification Commission. The term of the authorisation of the council does not exceeds six years.

The following Degree Committees operate at RSU:

  • Medical Degree Committee
  • Pharmacy Degree Committee
  • Sociology Degree Committee
  • Legal Science Degree Committee
  • Political Science Degree Committee

A degree committee has a chairperson, a deputy chairperson and a secretary (may not be a member of the committee).

Degree Committee makes all decisions in an open vote with a simple majority of votes, except decisions regarding degree conferral. The chairperson has the deciding vote if the division of votes is equal.

The committees operate in compliance with the regulation approved by the Senate of RSU (approved at the RSU Senate meeting on 16 May 2006, prot. no. 1 2/16.05.06. with amendments approved at the Senate meeting on 11 June 2013, effective from 1 July 2013).


Daiga Gintere, specialist/secretary, RSU Research Department

Address: 16 Dzirciema Street, Block K, Room 219, Rīga, LV-1007, Latvia

Phone: +371 67409205

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.