Skip to main content
For Students
For RSU Employees

Egils Levits, the President of Latvia, and the Chapter of Orders will award 79 members of society with the highest state decorations. State decorations are presented to those citizens who have served their country and its people through exceptional and selfless professional and social work. Among them are seven lecturers from Rīga Stradiņš University (RSU).

President Levits and the Chapter of Orders decided to award Dr. art. Dita Rietuma with the Order of the Three Stars for special merits for the benefit of the state and to appoint her as the Commander of the Order. Rietuma is the Director of the National Film Centre of Latvia and a lecturer at the RSU Faculty of Communication.

Academic Staff

The following have been awarded the Cross of Recognition and been appointed as Commander of the Cross of Recognition by President Levits and the Chapter of Orders:


Professor Guntis Karelis, neurologist and Head of the Neurology and Neurosurgery Clinic of the Clinical Centre Gaiļezers (Riga East Clinical University Hospital),

Academic Staff


Līga Kozlovska, general practitioner, Chief of Līga Kozlovska GP in Balvi city, President of Latvian Rural General Practitioners Association, Head of the RSU General Practitioner residency programme, 

Academic Staff


Sandris Petronis, Chairman of the Board of Riga 2nd Hospital Ltd, lecturer at the RSU Department of Orthopaedics,

Assistant (Acting)


Dace Žentiņa, pneumonologist and Head of the Lung Disease and Thoracic Surgery Centre of Pauls Stradiņš Clinical University Hospital Internal Medicine Clinic.

Academic Staff

The President and the Chapter of Orders has appointed the following as Officers of the Cross of Recognition:


Dr. med. Ināra Logina, Professor at the Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care of the RSU Faculty of Medicine, 


Dr. habil. med. Māra Pilmane, Director of the Institute of Anatomy and Anthropology of the RSU Faculty of Medicine and Head of the Department of Morphology. 

Head of the Department, Academic Staff, Director

We want to sincerely congratulate our lecturers on receiving the highest state decorations!