Skip to main content
For RSU Employees
For Students

For the next two years, until June 2021, the Latvian Association of Universities will be lead by Professor Aigars Pētersons, Rector of Rīga Stradiņš University (RSU). Leonīds Ribickis, Rector of Riga Technical University, was the previous President of the Association. The Association’s Statutes provide that the President of the Association changes every two years.

Professor Irēna Kokina, Rector of Daugavpils University, was elected Vice-President of the Latvian Association of Universities, while Artūrs Zeps, the Vice-Rector for Development of Riga Technical University, will continue to perform his duties as Managing Director.

The Latvian Association of Universities was established in 2009 to coordinate the cooperation between Latvian universities and address important issues. This promotes the development of higher education and science and strengthens higher education in Latvia.

All six Latvian universities have joined the Association: Daugavpils University, the University of Latvia, Latvia University of Life Sciences and Technologies, Liepaja University, Rīga Stradiņš University and Riga Technical University.