Skip to main content

The elections for the next rector of Riga Stradiņš University (RSU) will take place at the University’s next Constitutional Assembly on Wednesday, 23 November. This will be the first year that the elections are held according to the new procedures set out in the Law on Higher Education Institutions. The new law provides that the RSU Council organises the competition for the position of rector by setting the requirements, announcing the competition, evaluating the candidates, and ultimately nominating one or more of the most competitive candidates for election at the RSU Constitutional Assembly. After two rounds of evaluation, the Council unanimously decided to nominate the current Rector, Professor Aigars Pētersons, who will be up for election at a meeting for the Constitutional Assembly. Prof. Pētersons’ first five-year term as rector will end on 31 December this year. According to the law, a rector can be elected for a five-year term a maximum of two times.

In total, three candidates applied for the post of RSU Rector, including one from abroad. The RSU Council engaged the recruitment company Fontes (Fontes Executive Search) to verify the documents that the applicants submitted and to provide consultancy services during the evaluation process. In the first round, the RSU Council assessed the applicants' compliance with the requirements laid out in the Law on Higher Education Institutions and other regulatory enactments. In the second round, the RSU Council assessed the applicants’ competence as well as their vision for the strategic development of RSU over the next five years. The applicants presented their vision to the RSU Council in structured interviews that were conducted in English considering that the RSU Council has several foreign members.

Prof. Pētersons' extended vision for the University's strategic development is being made public so that the 130 delegates of the Constitutional Assembly and the general public are able to familiarise themselves with his vision for the upcoming five-year term. As mentioned, the elections will take place on 23 November at the Constitutional Assembly that consists of 130 representatives from the University, including academic and administrative staff, as well as students. To be elected, a candidate must obtain more than half of the votes of the members of the Constitutional Assembly.